THC - Cannabis - Ministry :: Community Forum Index
On the etymology of “cannabis”
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    THC - Cannabis - Ministry :: Community Forum Index -> Cannabis, Religion and History
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ReverendCaveGrower
Cannabis Sacrament Minister

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:26 am    Post subject: On the etymology of “cannabis” Reply with quote

Quote:
Hey y'all...just putting a write-up of some work I've done on the etymology of the word 'cannabis'. Some of the stuff one encounters out their is either bogus, or based on poor research/poor understanding, or yet worse, put out there to make a quick buck pandering to potheads. If anybody has questions or wants more detailed info, PM me.

I'm a newb when it comes to growing (just check out how many posts I've done on watering schedules LOL - sorry guys), but I do have professional experience with researching etymology...just want to contribute any way I can.

Cheers

On the etymology of “cannabis”

1. Language Change

Before preceding to the actual etymology of “cannabis”, a few basics should be made clear. Etymology, in a ‘real’ or ‘professional’ sense, has more to do with the development and changes in the forms and meanings of words across time. Although people are quite happy to accept certain trivia as ‘etymology’, e.g. that a “sandwich” is named after the Earl of Sandwich, who wanted something to eat between pieces of bread (some say in order to gamble, others in order to hunt), these types of ‘etymology’ do not explain the historical development of a word. For instance, the above “sandwich” example does not indicate where the word “sandwich”, but rather a convenient story as to how the culinary item got its name.